Reviews

Add A Review

Rated 5/5 based on 12 customer reviews
"My wife and I have known Dr Starr DPT since 2017 when he began treating my wife for her chronic back problems. His positive impact on her quality of life has been remarkable over the last 4 years. He has helped slow the progression of her intractable spine conditions by his continuing creative approaches over these years. The treatment strategies have evolved as her chronic issues have unpredictably / dynamically changed. In recent years, her treatment has changed numerous times from core strengthening to myofascial release techniques to IFC electro stimulations to combinations depending on how she feels on any given day during her twice weekly appointments. All these efforts over time have help her maintain a quality of life to as good as possible. For me, over this last year, on three separate segments of time, Dr Starr corrected nagging back and shoulder issues that had reduced my quality of life to a point that self-treatment was not working. Through concentrated / thorough examinations, he precisely diagnosed and each issue, misalignment, low core strength and range of motion problems. His treatments were primarily myofascial release techniques, active muscle energy treatments to correct misalignments (shoulder, thoracic and lumbar), and core strengthening exercises (homework). These examples of physical therapy successes have proven me a believer in his expertise so much that I have recommended his services to my friends. Dr Starr is truly a seasoned veteran in his approach to simple and especially complex problems. He is tireless in his determination to improve and/or correct chronic issues makes him truly a one of a kind. Each appointment is an hour of undivided attention, no doubling up with another patient, clearly and advantage to completing a treatment plan successfully. Anyone with chronic physical pain that may or may not need surgical care should make an appoint with Dr Starr. His repertoire of skills will improve one's quality of life if at all possible. I am a living example who had physical issues that targeted PT treatments by Dr Starr successfully corrected. "
Oct 17, 2021
"Great staff, and Charles is incredible! No better place for aches, pains, and wellness. "
Oct 07, 2021
"Thank you, Charles!!! In 4 short sessions you were successful in alleviating my back and neck pain that have been limiting me for years. Your expertise in observing my postural issues and "straightening me out", has the feel of a miracle cure. Achieving my long term goal of not having to plan my activities around my pain was unexpected, but is making life good again. I am so very grateful to have been referred to you and expect to continue periodic visits for tune-ups as needed. The atmosphere and personal attention is refreshing and pleasing. The exercise plan you provided me seems to have exactly fit the need. While it is not a big workout ordeal, it is just what will keep me flexible and active over the coming years. Thank you again!"
Sep 18, 2021
"Thank you, Charles!!! In 4 short sessions you were successful in alleviating my back and neck pain that have been limiting me for years. Your expertise in observing my postural issues and "straightening me out", has the feel of a miracle cure. Achieving my long term goal of not having to plan my activities around my pain was unexpected, but is making life good again. I am so very grateful to have been referred to you and expect to continue periodic visits for tune-ups as needed. The atmosphere and personal attention is refreshing and pleasing. The exercise plan you provided me seems to have exactly fit the need. While it is not a big workout ordeal, it is just what will keep me flexible and active over the coming years. Thank you again!"
Sep 18, 2021
From Google
"If you are an athlete and in need of a professional and thorough Physical Therapist. Go see Charles!"
Aug 17, 2021
"Coming here literally changed my life! At just 21 years old I had been in chronic pain for 2 years and was brushed off by countless doctors including an orthopedic specialist because I was 'too young' or they 'don't see anything wrong with me' or 'if I was really in pain nothing is going to fix it except surgery so they didn't know what I wanted from them.' FINALLY, I found a wonderful neurology PA who heard me out and sent me to Charles to verify if what I was experiencing was truly severe sciatica starting at just age 19. Within minutes of observing me, Charles identified exactly what was going on, what the root causes were, and how to fix it. Something I really enjoyed is how Charles always took the time to thoroughly explain the reasoning behind each problem and each solution. I'm a very busy graduate student living an hour away, but he was always extremely kind and flexible as we worked together to find times in my busy schedule for me to come for an appointment. Perhaps the most amazing thing is that I could actually see and feel differences in my pain, strength, mobility, etc. clear as day- both along the way and lasting past my time spent there. I'm 2.5 years out of PT with Charles, and to this day I can say that thanks to him I am equipped with the tools to keep myself virtually pain-free. I'm so grateful; it still makes me emotional talking about how much my life was changed. If you're dealing with sciatica (or other pain) and thinking about going here, DO IT. I hope your life is changed as much as mine!"
May 30, 2021
"Starr Spine is amazing to say the least! Charles is a pleasure to work with and my fiancé didn’t say a word about his back pain after only a few sessions with him!! The atmosphere is very calm and relaxing in his new space! Would definitely recommend anyone and everyone to go here with any concerns you may have & they will be relieved!!"
Apr 10, 2021
From Google
"Charles is very caring and knowledgeable. I went to him for neck pain and headaches and I learned where the source of my pain and headaches were coming from. His schedule is flexible and accommodating and I know I can count on being able to get an appointment with him. He has helped to relieve my neck pain and reduce headaches so I am grateful. I highly recommend checking this place out! 5/5 stars, thank you very much Doctor Charles!"
Feb 11, 2021
From Google
"Starr Spine Therapy! I had five or six sessions with Charles and his knowledge of the muscles and their purpose is absolutely astounding. He verbally explained and showed me computer diagrams for my comprehension. With the knowledge he transferred to me, he inspired me to be more proactive with my body motions. I am faithfully doing exercises and heat treatment as given me and the improvement is outstanding."
Jan 07, 2021
From Google
"Dr. Charles is not just an ordinary Physical therapist, he do a wonderful job in taking care of your over aches and pain. He give you hope to being able to get off the bed or couch and getting active again. If past Physical therapy left you without out hope, I encourage you to give Dr. Charles a call. Tell him I send you..."
Dec 29, 2020
From Google
"My experience at Starr Spine Physical Therapy and Wellness was truly exceptional. I was referred here by multiple family members who all had positive experiences. Coming from multiple physical therapy experiences at affiliates of OhioHealth and TriHealth (Cincinnati) due to previous injuries, I was no stranger to the way most PT processes go. However, my experience with Dr. Starr changed what I thought of when I imagined what an ideal PT experience would be. At these previous providers, therapy sometimes felt rushed and impersonal. Therapists would focus on meeting certain goals outlined by the doctor (such as range of motion or strength goals) but overlook functional deficiencies that would end up having a long term impact. Despite graduating from these programs, I still felt as though there were key areas that were not addressed that would have made a significant impact on my quality of life. This was not the case with Dr. Starr. Charles excels at providing a comfortable and inviting setting which makes the experience much more enjoyable. Dr. Starr thoroughly explains the mechanics of whatever issue you are having, while still making it easy to understand for someone without a lot of medical knowledge. Not only was he able to address the main issue at hand, but he also fixed other irregularities that were compounding this issue. In the months that I visited Dr. Starr, I can undoubtedly say that I left every single appointment satisfied with the progress I had made, as well as Dr. Starr’s treatment methods. In the future, I know that if I ever had another issue requiring PT, Starr Spine Physical Therapy and Wellness is the only provider I would consider going to."
Dec 14, 2020
From Google
"Charles is the best physical therapist we have ever been to, we are so glad we found him. He helped my wife regarding her knee surgery, and he has helped me immensely with back pain that was affecting my golf game. He is very thorough and knowledgeable. He listens carefully, and explains his assessment in understandable terms. Very friendly and caring; Charles is one of a kind. Now, I can no longer blame my golf game on back pain!"
Nov 20, 2020
From Google
"Charles is the best physical therapist we have ever been to, we are so glad we found him. He helped my wife regarding her knee surgery, and he has helped me immensely with back pain that was affecting my golf game. He is very thorough and knowledgeable. He listens carefully, and explains his assessment in understandable terms. Very friendly and caring; Charles is one of a kind. Now, I can no longer blame my golf game on back pain!"
Nov 20, 2020
From Google
"Charles Starr is amazing!!! He not only helped relieve the back pain I have endured for over 20 years, he recognized the cause of my debilitating ailment and encouraged me to take the issue back to my surgeon. Although it resulted in my 3rd back surgery, I am 8 days out of surgery and I feel 100% better. If you are looking for a good, knowledgeable, friendly therapist, stop searching and make an appointment!"
Oct 19, 2020
From Google
"Charles Starr is amazing!!! He not only helped relieve the back pain I have endured for over 20 years, he recognized the cause of my debilitating ailment and encouraged me to take the issue back to my surgeon. Although it resulted in my 3rd back surgery, I am 8 days out of surgery and I feel 100% better. If you are looking for a good, knowledgeable, friendly therapist, stop searching and make an appointment!"
Oct 19, 2020
From Google
"Assessment, Diagnose and Treatment was spot on. My husband can walk better & feels overall significantly better, which in turn has improved his mood and the education provided along with the therapy was much appreciated. We are telling everyone about Starr Spine Physical Therapy. It has been a game changer in my husbands and my life. Deserves 10 stars..."
Oct 18, 2020
From Google
"Assessment, Diagnose and Treatment was spot on. My husband can walk better & feels overall significantly better, which in turn has improved his mood and the education provided along with the therapy was much appreciated. We are telling everyone about Starr Spine Physical Therapy. It has been a game changer in my husbands and my life. Deserves 10 stars..."
Oct 18, 2020
From Google
"Went to him with a back problem from work .He worked on me for 10 sessions and got my back problem done .would highly recommend him to anybody.."
Aug 16, 2020
From Google
"Went to him with a back problem from work .He worked on me for 10 sessions and got my back problem done .would highly recommend him to anybody.."
Aug 16, 2020
From Google
"I had herniated my l4 amd l5 disc in 2012.after many chirpractor amd emergency visits i still had dealt with severe pain for all these years.I was referred to see mr.Charles Starr and was the best decision I made.I had one visit and still many to come but i walked out of there with significant pain relief although we still have some work to do i can manage my day to day activities so much better and can have a full nights sleep.thank you so much Charles."
Aug 05, 2020
From Google
"I had herniated my l4 amd l5 disc in 2012.after many chirpractor amd emergency visits i still had dealt with severe pain for all these years.I was referred to see mr.Charles Starr and was the best decision I made.I had one visit and still many to come but i walked out of there with significant pain relief although we still have some work to do i can manage my day to day activities so much better and can have a full nights sleep.thank you so much Charles."
Aug 05, 2020
From Google
"Starr Spine PT was recommended by a very good friend. I had Plantar Fasciitis and could barely walk. I ended up hurting my ankle and top of foot from trying to walk to avoid pain. I didn't want to get the shot in my foot from the doctors office if I could help it. My friend suggested I try PT here first. All I can say is WOW, I am so glad I tried PT here first. What a difference in a couple weeks. I appreciated how Charles answered any of my questions. He seemed more concerned with my well being as opposed to some offices I have been to where they were looking for just $. He recommended advice and exercises to prevent it in the future as well. I would highly recommend Charles if you are looking for a PT."
Jul 08, 2020
"Starr Spine PT was recommended by a very good friend. I had Plantar Fasciitis and could barely walk. I ended up hurting my ankle and top of foot from trying to walk to avoid pain. I didn't want to get the shot in my foot from the doctors office if I could help it. My friend suggested I try PT here first. All I can say is WOW, I am so glad I tried PT here first. What a difference in a couple weeks. I appreciated how Charles answered any of my questions. He seemed more concerned with my well being as opposed to some offices I have been to where they were looking for just $. He recommended advice and exercises to prevent it in the future as well. I would highly recommend Charles if you are looking for a PT."
Jul 08, 2020
From Google
"Starr Spine PT was recommended by a very good friend. I had Plantar Fasciitis and could barely walk. I ended up hurting my ankle and top of foot from trying to walk to avoid pain. I didn't want to get the shot in my foot from the doctors office if I could help it. My friend suggested I try PT here first. All I can say is WOW, I am so glad I tried PT here first. What a difference in a couple weeks. I appreciated how Charles answered any of my questions. He seemed more concerned with my well being as opposed to some offices I have been to where they were looking for just $. He recommended advice and exercises to prevent it in the future as well. I would highly recommend Charles if you are looking for a PT."
Jul 08, 2020
From Google
"I just started going to physical therapy when a friend started talking very highly about Charles Starr. So I decided to switch to Starr Spine for my treatment on my right hamstring. Charles not only started treating my injury but worked on what caused my injury. Upon completion of my therapy I was most satisfied with the personable treatment, professionalism, and knowledge of Charles. I felt totally recovered, stronger, and most confident in the care I received. I would strongly recommend Starr Spine to friends and family without hesitation."
May 10, 2020
"Starr Spine was recommended by a very good friend. I was being treated for a severe right hamstring injury. Charles not only treated my injured hamstring, he treated the cause for my injury. He successfully realigned my right pelvis, which caused my injury. I have been treated by 4 different therapists in my life, but never by a more knowledgeable, professional, and friendly PT as Charles Starr. I would not hesitate in recommending Starr Spine to any friend or relative."
May 09, 2020
"I discovered Starr Spine on a drive by well actually a walk by following lower back surgery. I had just been released for therapy and was searching the net for a local site. I made an appointment went in talked to Charles and decided to do therapy there, it turned out to be a very good decision. Charles addressed my therapy with in house and in home sessions for core strengthening. Charles was very personal and professional and brought me to my goal levels in a timely fashion. I have and will continue to recommend Starr Spine to friends and family."
Apr 22, 2020
"I chose Starr Spine with caution after a previous therapy at another site left me worse off than when I arrived! I was recovering from lower back surgery and needed core strengthening and have other conditions that impede my progress. Charles provided me with a program to work from home as well as treating me in therapy explaining each movement and its virtues. I thank Charles and Starr Spine for their professional courteous demeanor and for the progress we achieved."
Apr 21, 2020
"Physical Therapy has been a necessity for my quality of life. In the last 15 years, PT has been necessary for a knee, a shoulder and now my lumbar spine. No Physical Therapist has been more introspective and creative to help improve my overall back health than Dr. Charles L. Starr DPT. My severe lumbar scoliosis is not correctable thus causing chronic pain mostly when I stand. Dr. Charles has devised a plan of care that includes home exercises and twice weekly â€Å"myofascial release” treatments. He employs the latest in physical therapy tools including one of the top smartphone PT apps on which he has created a personalize therapy program. The exercises are documented by video demonstrations, duration, reps, number of sets, pain level recording and notes. All this gives me PT portability, eliminates paper handouts and allows Dr. Charles to review my home exercise experience and progress. I am amazed at how these two very mutually exclusive therapy techniques have improved my posture and remarkably slowed the progression of further degradation while focusing on the goal of minimizing my chronic pain. Additionally, he thoroughly documents my progress during and after each session for historical comparison / reference and insurance purposes. While the spine is Dr. Charles primary focus, his knowledge / experience includes a â€Å"whole body approach”. He may identify perhaps other "causations" and remedies for improved overall back health. Every session with Dr. Charles is individualized. He is not distracted by having to attend to another patient at any time. I would sincerely and heartily recommend Starr Spine PT and Wellness to anyone who wants uniquely personalize, dedicated, top-notch spine specific physical therapy. "
Mar 29, 2020
"Great knowledge in his practice. Charles has great people skills and is really easy to talk to. I was his first workers comp client and he did all the leg work with the insurance companies. Extremely flexible schedule and always able to schedule of something where to come up. Great conversationalist and made it feel like I wasn’t in a therapy office. I highly recommend Starr Spine Physical Therapy and Wellness and if the service is ever needed again, he’ll be my go-to “hands” down."
Feb 18, 2020
From Google
"Great knowledge in his practice. Charles has great people skills and is really easy to talk to. I was his first workers comp client and he did all the leg work with the insurance companies. Extremely flexible schedule and always able to schedule of something where to come up. Great conversationalist and made it feel like I wasn’t in a therapy office. I highly recommend Starr Spine Physical Therapy and Wellness and if the service is ever needed again, he’ll be my go-to “hands” down."
Feb 18, 2020
From Google
"After surgeries to replace both hips, both shoulders and low back implants, through in-office physical therapy, Charles has me at a point of little or no pain. Having opened his own office in Grove City, which is closer to my home, care of any quirks or check-ups are closer than his previous locations. Charles has the patience of Job; he is kind and caring. "You are his number one patient." A one-on-one therapy principle for patient care makes you feel like you are his Number #1. He is Number #1 for me and can be for your wellness and recovery. "
Dec 23, 2019
©2018 Google LLC All rights reserved. Google and the Google logo are registered trademarks of Google LLC.

Testimonials

I’ve had many trials of physical therapy…no one has taken an interest in my lower back problem more enthusiastically and precisely.

– LF

Dr. Charles Starr has a unique dedication to finding solutions and using creative treatment strategies towards eliminating and minimizing my back pain.

– FJ

Benefits in relief gained are remarkable. I would heartily recommend Charles.

– TK

An unrivaled physical therapy program going far beyond the standard of short-term relief.

– KT

Charles Starr is kind and insightful. He takes the time to get to know you. I am excited that he now has his own practice.

– EB

He is an awesome guy!! I highly recommend him. He’s right here in Grove City, which is very convenient.

– JB